Photography: Olivia Blake Slideshow

When I was choosing a theme for the Olivia Blake e-commerce site on Shopify, I chose one with a slideshow on the homepage to make it interesting to look at yet still easy to build and maintain. The only thing I had to do was create the slides.

Olivia Blake dresses are all about fairly simple silhouettes brought to life with great fabrics. Since I had collected a handful of swatches during my first meeting, I figured they could make for a cool slideshow.

I got out my Panasonic LX3, laid the fabric down on my white keyboard tray in some nicely diffused light from a window and went to work. Rather than just shoot straight down, I took advantage of the Panasonic’s fast, wide-angle lens to capture images with a very shallow depth of field and lots of interesting angles.

In Photoshop, I added the green rectangles and turned the slideshow into a (very brief) tour of what Olivia Blake has to offer. I sketched the dresses in Illustrator, mostly with my Wacom tablet, but finessed with the pen tool and finished by adding brush strokes.

You can see the slideshow in action at oliviablake.com.

